as the text

the other day i saw a sign
i didn’t like the sign
the sign read
my life insurance policy was worth more than me

remember it’s a wonderful life?
remember george bailey?
he struggled with those very thoughts

sure, his life had struggles
a young father
a rickety old house
chewing out his daughter’s teacher
always seeming to play second fiddle to his brother
a seriously struggling business

he was ready to take the plunge
in icy cold waters
to cash it all in
for the sake of his family

saved by a guardian angel

i kept looking at the sign
for near and far
never passing it
just a thought about a thought

i had my guardian angel
in the form of a friend

we shared dinner
i had completely planned
to talk about my current place

but like she always does
just being with her
lifts my spirits
and lightens my heart
i never got around to my sign

as hours passed
since my friend and i broke bread
the signs keeps getting smaller
disappearing on the horizon

will i see the sign again?
unfortunately and most likely yes
my hope is
like this time
i stay on the same side of sign
as the text

This entry was posted in depression on by .

About bipolarsojourner

i have struggled with episodic depression for years. i then received a diagnosis of being bipolar, only to find out i didn’t. ends up my psychiatrist really meant to say that multiple bouts of depression are often best treated like bipolar. i had already started this blog as bipolar sojourner and didn't want to switch it over. i am documenting my journeys through my depression jungle.

One thought on “as the text

  1. avaswan

    You know you are worth more than gold!!! I am so glad you didn’t feel like George Bailey and have a lot to live for. It is so nice you have a friend to lift your spirits, good friends are important to have. Love your poem!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

