purple berries…

drugs–god’s gift to mankind?

i want a new drug
one that does what it should
one that won’t make me feel too bad
one that won’t make me feel too good.

huey lewis and the news

drugs get sold as god’s gift to mankind. marketing has sold them as cure-alls ever since the advent of paxil. at the time, the people in the seeming know believed that paxil would eliminate depression. if you haven’t guessed by now, the promise never came true.

since then, new drugs have come on the market, often times with similar promises as paxil. if you haven’t guessed by now, that promise still hasn’t come true. few people seem willing to talk about the elephant in the room, side effects.

image

how come the side effects list looks so similar to the drug’s symptom relief list? stop me if these side effects sound familiar: suicidal thoughts, depression, anxiety, mania, headaches, mood swings, sleep disruption, weight changes… the very symptoms we run from. god’s gift to mankind? to me, drugs sound almost as dangerous as beneficial.

then the efficacy of the drugs comes into play. the drugs often don’t work as designed. from the support meetings i attend and blogs i follow, people are extremely lucky to find a drug combo that works on their first try. i hear again and again of stories of people who had to try many different cocktails of drugs before they find something that works or even kind of works. then, there of the stories of people who have never found a drug combinations that works for them. this happens so much, it has gained a name, drug resistant depression.

a note to the pharmaceutical industry and regulators; stop over promising and under delivering. keep your stories of finding a silver bullet or a cure-all to yourself unless you have discovered something truly amazing and opposed the mediocre shit you continue to give to us.

stay tuned for what this means to my story.

4 thoughts on “drugs–god’s gift to mankind?

  1. emmagc75

    We definitely have had very different experiences. For years I would find a combo of meds that allowed me to function, go to school, hold a job, etc. Then they would inevitably stop working. So I went to a psychopharmacologist and have been on the same meds for over 13 years. It’s not a cureall. I still have bad days. But I have a life and for that I am extremely grateful.
    Regarding side effects, the last thing a person with anxiety should do is read the pamphlet with all the side effects. I have found they are much more apt to have these side effects when made aware they are a possibility. Lastly, would you rather have lived in the past where people with mental illnesses were just completely and utterly screwed? While yes there is no magic pill, the meds we have now are a HUGE improvement to what was available even a few decades ago. Hang in there and don’t give up hope!

    Reply
    1. bipolarsojourner Post author

      For years I would find a combo of meds that allowed me to function, go to school, hold a job, etc. Then they would inevitably stop working.

      that’s another drawback to drugs I forgot to mention. why would something work for a long period of time then suddenly stop working. that just adds to the frustration caused by drugs.

      So I went to a psychopharmacologist and have been on the same meds for over 13 years. It’s not a cureall. I still have bad days. But I have a life and for that I am extremely grateful.

      that’s great. you still prove my point, though. you still required multiple regimens before you found something close to stability.

      I know of only one person who has mdd or bp who got a drug regimen right on the first try. I know of two people whose drug resistant depression got so bad, they figured their only choice was ect. ect failed for one of those people and only worked marginally for the other. then there is a plethora of people who live in frustration trying to find a drug regimen that works. i’m not saying people don’t eventually find a drug regimen, i’m saying that that doesn’t match the promise offered up by the drug companies.

      the last thing a person with anxiety should do is read the pamphlet with all the side effects.

      i don’t need to read pamphlets to know side effects. i, like you avoid pamphlets. who would of thought welbutrin would cause ear ringing? I just want to answer my damned ear. otherwise, I have either experienced said side effects or one of my co-journeries have.

      would you rather have lived in the past where people with mental illnesses were just completely and utterly screwed?

      the promise of drugs remains unfulfilled. i find myself only marginally better today than the depths of this depressive cycle, pretty close to completely and utterly screwed. i still find myself far away from the fully functional person that i was before the start of this cycle.

      Reply
      1. emmagc75

        I can feel the frustration and I get it. I’ve known 2 people who got ect and both were able to go off meds, 1 had severe clinical depression n multiple suicide attempts over the years. The other was bipolar. Both are doing remarkably better even after 2 and 3 years.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

