return from lake 22

escritor a escritor

I gave the piece on the death of my relative to Mary the other day. she proudly sent it to some friends, family and acquaintances. one of them has published a book. he is obviously a much better writer than I am as a portion of his response bears out below.

…Encourage him to consciously rewrite everything he does, (everything, from emails to stories to tweets to shopping lists) …

okay, except for the grocery list my work gets many rewrites.

…looking for evidence of cognitive biases and distortions influenced by his own depression…

see? did I tell ya(sic) he was a much better riter?(sic). he even knows what voice i want to use to tell my story. that’s plainly obvious by his comment.

ah, excuse me, i know what voice i want to write in. i want to write in the voice of someone who struggles with depression and what the journey has taught me and how it could possibly help others. i’m not sure i could accomplish that and at the same time, “look for evidence of cognitive biases and distortions influenced by my own depression.” never the twain shall meet.

i ain’t(sic) goin'(sic) to tell the author of them thar(sic) grapes of wrath, the story woulda(sic) been better told from the point of view of the pick-em-up(sic). i’ll admit I ain’t (sic) no steinbeck, but where the hell does this person come off telling me how i should write my story?? uncouth!

this really upsets me! this boils my blood! this gets my guard up! this pisses me off! this infuriates me!

i also find his comments to be very invalidating. btw, invalidation is a perfectly valid way to encourage someone where you obviously have total and utter superiority over them. in case you didn’t know, it works like a charm.

you know what? mister superior may have upset me, got my blood to boil, got my guard up, pissed me off and infuriated me, but my writing style, my voice is uniquely mine and totally, completely and undeniably valid. if he doesn’t like it he can go write a book and choose what ever voice he wants. if he doesn’t like my voice or think it’s wrong, that’s his misplaced thoughts from his ivory tower.

go away.

This entry was posted in depression, emotions on by .

About bipolarsojourner

i have struggled with episodic depression for years. i then received a diagnosis of being bipolar, only to find out i didn’t. ends up my psychiatrist really meant to say that multiple bouts of depression are often best treated like bipolar. i had already started this blog as bipolar sojourner and didn't want to switch it over. i am documenting my journeys through my depression jungle.

6 thoughts on “escritor a escritor

  1. Pingback: mistakes were made–move on | bipolarsojourner

  2. Pingback: gee, i wonder why this week feels so crappy | bipolarsojourner

  3. Shrewed Up

    Good for you in sharing it with others for feedback. That, in and of itself, is an accomplishment. I would be upset with the dude as well, not very constructive and more juvenile in its approach – write and re-write . . . pretty sure you know the writing process. Pompous jackass. For whatever it is worth, I enjoy your writing style and voice. He’s only one. Let it go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

